Chrysler Building

chrysler-building-0

The poll, which held a museum of New York skyscrapers showed that the favorite for the locals is the Chrysler Building. For a city where there is the Statue of Liberty and the Empire State Building – it’s pretty high rank. It Chrysler Building is considered the most beautiful building in New York.

Construction in pursuit of a record height

Chrysler Building opened its doors May 27, 1930. Well-known automaker Walter Chrysler, whose name is a building placed in it his headquarters. He conceived the building as one family, irrespective of the auto industry, and decided that the city is the perfect place for a luxurious architectural masterpiece.

chrysler-building-st

William Van Alen, the architect of the Chrysler Building, desperately wanted to build the tallest building in New York and the world. In 1930, the year in pursuit of fame and was attended by the architects of the building at 40 Wall Street, who had planned to construct a building on two feet taller than the Chrysler Building. But, not wanting to be bypassed, William Van Alen, without advertising it received permission from the city to erect the building 38-meter spire, which was assembled inside the building, which made it the tallest building in the world.

However, Chrysler Building could be proud of this title just a year. In 1931, the Empire State Building took from him this honorary title. Empire State Building higher, but many believe that the Chrysler Building is much more beautiful and unusual building.

chrysler_building

Limited access to the building

Come every year millions of tourists eager to see this magnificent skyscraper. Although immediately after the completion of the Chrysler Building on the 71 th floor for all visitors to the viewing platform was available, in 1945 it was closed.

chrysler-building-ni2z

Birthday Chrysler Building

May 7, 2005 Chrysler Building celebrated its 75th anniversary. In honor of this important event for all those wishing to open access to the gargoyles and winged steel vases on 31 th and 61 th floors. The US Postal Service has like spirit festival and released brand Chrysler Building.

There was a huge work on the restoration of the building. Only a year and a half was spent on the restoration of the frescoes in the hall. There was a major overhaul and restoration of elevators, each of which by itself is a unique attraction. Visitors also got access to the renovated lobby, designed in the style of Art Deco, to the elevator door, and into the zone.

chrysler-building-3

The top of the tower is decorated with elements resembling caps wheel discs mark “Chrysler” of the 30s.

Chrysler Building is quite a significant symbol of New York City. It’s hard to find someone who would not know him and did not stand out from the urban sky. His white lights visible at night from the sea, the whole building shines a bright light in the center of the sky in New York. For many, the Chrysler Building is not only the symbol of the city, but also a symbol of the breadth of human capabilities.

Chrysler Building is located at 405 Lexington Ave, New York, NY 10174

Map

New York, Skyscrapers in New York City Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Крайслер-билдинг

chrysler-building-0

Опрос, который провел музей Нью-Йоркских небоскребов показал, что фаворитом для местных жителей является Крайслер-билдинг. Для такого города, где есть статуя Свободы и Эмпайр-Стейт-Билдинг — это довольно высокое звание. Именно Крайслер-билдинг считается самым красивым зданием Нью-Йорка.

Строительство в погоне за рекордом высоты

Крайслер-билдинг распахнул свои двери 27 мая 1930 года. Известный автомобилестроитель Уолтер Крайслер, имя которого носит здание, разместил в нем свою штаб-квартиру. Он задумал здание как еще один семейный бизнес, независимый от авто индустрии, и решил, что город станет превосходным местом для роскошного архитектурного шедевра.

chrysler-building-st

Уильям ван Ален, архитектор Крайслер-билдинг, отчаянно хотел построить самое высокое здание в Нью-Йорке и мире. В 1930-м году в погоне за славой приняли участие и архитекторы здания на Уолл-стрит 40, которые планировали построить здание на 2 фута выше, чем Крайслер-билдинг. Но, не желая быть обойденными, Уильям ван Ален, не афишируя этого, получил разрешение от города увенчать здание 38-метровым шпилем, который был собран внутри здания, что превратило его в самое высокое здание мира.

Однако Крайслер-билдинг смог гордиться этим титулом всего год. В 1931-м году Эмпайр-Стейт-Билдинг отобрал у него это почетное звание. Эмпайр-Стейт-Билдинг выше, но многие считают что Крайслер-билдинг гораздо более красивое и необычное здание.

chrysler_building

Ограниченный доступ в здание

Приезжающие ежегодно миллионы туристов стремятся увидеть этот великолепный небоскреб. И хотя сразу же после завершения строительства Крайслер-Билдинг на 71-м этаже для всех посетителей была доступна обзорная площадка, в 1945 году ее закрыли.

chrysler-building-ni2z

День рождения Крайслер-билдинг

7 мая 2005 года Крайслер-билдинг праздновал свое 75-летие. В честь этого важного события для всех желающих открыли доступ к стальным горгульям и крылатым вазам на 31-м и 61-м этажах. Американская почтовая служба прониклась духом празднества и выпустила марку Крайслер-билдинг.

Была проделана огромная работа по реставрации здания. Только полтора года ушло на реставрацию фрески в холле. Был произведен капитальный ремонт и восстановление лифтов, каждый из которых сам по себе является уникальной достопримечательностью. Посетители получили также доступ в отреставрированный вестибюль, выполненный в стиле Арт-Деко, к дверям лифтов и во внутренние зоны.

chrysler-building-3

Верхушку башни украшают элементы, напоминающие колпаки дисков автомобильных колес марки «Крайслер» времен 30-х годов.

Крайслер-билдинг довольно значимый символ Нью-Йорка. Трудно найти человека, которой не узнал бы его, и не выделил на фоне городского неба. Его белые огни видны ночью с моря, все здание сверкает ярким светом в самом центре небосвода Нью-Йорка. Для многих Крайслер-билдинг остается не только символом города, но и символом широты человеческих возможностей.

Крайслер-билдинг находится по адресу 405 Lexington Ave, New York, NY 10174

Карта

Нью-Йорк,Небоскребы Нью-Йорка 1 Комментарий

Одна мысль о “Крайслер-билдинг

  • Пятница Октябрь 13th, 2017 в 17:40
    Permalink

    Hi. Wonderful article. Just a heads up, the construction photo is of the Woolworth Building, not the Chrysler Building.

    Ответить

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *