Brooklyn Bridge in New York City

brige7-s
Brooklyn Bridge – one of the oldest and most active suspension bridges in the United States. This world-famous bridge, hanging on steel cables, is one of the main attractions of New York.

How to build the Brooklyn Bridge

The bridge passes over the East River and connects the Strait of Long Island and Manhattan, that is Brooklyn and New York. Because of this, at the beginning of its existence, it was called the Brooklyn, the New York. Only in 1915 he received the official name of the Brooklyn Bridge.

Brooklyn-Bridge-New-York-City

John Roebling and his company engaged in the project for the construction of the Brooklyn Bridge. The works lasted 13 years and has cost 15.1 million. Dollars.

At that time, steel was still new material and Roebling contemporaries considered utopian idea of ​​its application. But John still applied steel cables that serve as the support structure. He suggested galvanizing suspension cable, the steel does not corrode, and they are still well maintained roadway.

After the death of John Roebling continuer of his work was his wife, Emily, who supervised the construction on the continuation of 11 years. In 1883, the bridge finally inaugurated.

DSC_2105-s

Notably Brooklyn Bridge

The peculiarity of the Brooklyn Bridge is not only impressive in its extent (1825 m), but also in its neo-Gothic tower height of 83 meters, which are considered the tallest building in the Western Hemisphere at the time of opening of the bridge, and for some time after.

brige6s

brige9-big

Workers repair the Brooklyn Bridge in 2006, found in the 1950m created by a secret bomb shelter. Its entrance is camouflaged in the wall of the bridge supports. The cache found significant reserves – 350 thousand cans of canned food, plants for air purification kits for medical care, blankets.

brige5-s

brige1-small

It is hard to imagine that this is a delightful structure, is still an industrial wonder of the world, it appeared in the days when the Americans went on a horse and cart. It is clear why in the century before it all hit the ultramodern look. Currently, the bridge is organized 6 lanes for cars and one in the center for cyclists and pedestrians.

brige2-big

brige3-s

DSC_2130s

Brooklyn Bridge in New York City, with skyscrapers of Times Square, considered one of the main symbols of American progress. Bridge – the most recognizable landmark of New York and acts as a bridge between New York City past and present.

Bridges, New York 1 Comment

One thought on “Brooklyn Bridge in New York City

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Бруклинский мост в Нью-Йорке

brige7-s

Бруклинский мост − один из самых старых и действующих подвесных мостов в Соединенных штатах Америки. Этот знаменитый на весь мир мост, висящий на стальных тросах, является одной из основных достопримечательностей Нью-Йорка.

Как строили Бруклинский мост

Мост проходит над Ист-Риверским проливом и соединяет острова Лонг-Айленд и Манхэттен, то есть Бруклин и Нью-Йорк. Из-за этого, в начале своего существования он назывался то Бруклинским, то Нью-Йоркским. Лишь в 1915 году он получил официальное название Бруклинского моста.

Brooklyn-Bridge-New-York-City

Джон Реблинг со своей компанией занимался проектом по строительству Бруклинского моста. Работы длились 13 лет и обошлись в 15,1 млн. долларов.

В те времена сталь была еще новым материалом и современники Реблинга считали идею ее применения утопичной. Но Джон все равно применил стальные канаты, выполняющие роль несущей конструкции. Он предложил гальванизировать несущие тросы, чтобы сталь не подвергалась коррозии, и они до сих пор прекрасно поддерживают дорожное полотно.

После смерти Джона Реблинга продолжательницей его дела стала его жена Эмили, которая руководила строительством на продолжении 11 лет. В 1883 году мост, наконец, торжественно открыли.

DSC_2105-s

Примечательность Бруклинского моста

Особенность Бруклинского моста состоит не только в его внушительной протяжённости (1825 м), но и в его неоготических башнях высотой 83 метра, которые считались самыми высокими сооружениями Западного полушария на момент открытия моста и еще некоторое время после.

brige6s

brige9-big

Рабочие, ремонтировавшие Бруклинский мост в 2006 году, обнаружили созданное в 1950м году секретное бомбоубежище. Вход в него замаскировали в стены опоры моста. В тайнике нашли значительные запасы — 350 тысяч металлических банок с консервами, установки для очистки воздуха, наборы для оказания медицинской помощи, одеяла.

brige5-s

brige1-small

Трудно представить, что это восхитительное сооружение, все еще являющееся индустриальным чудом света, появилось ещё во времена, когда американцы ездили на лошадях и телегах. Совершенно ясно, почему в позапрошлом веке всех поражал его ультрасовременный вид. В настоящее время на мосту организовано 6 полос движения для автомобилей и одна в центре для велосипедистов и пешеходов.

brige2-big

brige3-s

DSC_2130s

Бруклинский мост в Нью-Йорке, вместе с небоскрёбами на Таймс Сквер, считается одним из главных символов американского прогресса. Мост − самый узнаваемый ориентир Нью-Йорка и исполняет роль связующего звена между Нью-Йорком прошлого и настоящего.

Мосты,Нью-Йорк 1 Комментарий

Одна мысль о “Бруклинский мост в Нью-Йорке

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *